Our Actions


StorymakerEn

Action Principles

Samu Social Senegal’s mission is to reach out in emergency to street children and to vulnerable children in the street. The following principles are implemented:

  • in approaching children, considering them as victims who no longer have the strength or desire to turn to ordinary structures or any other association;
  • moving children out of harm’s way in line with medico-psycho-social emergency procedures;
  • facilitating the reinsertion of children through a network of institutional and private partners;
  • supporting any action directly or indirectly connected to the issue of “vulnerable children”.

The Samu Social is the first link in a chain spanning from emergency to insertion. Its objective is to improve the situation of vulnerable street children and to avoid a worsening of their distress. We simply seek to implement a support process in the name of the dignity that every child, and generally, any person excluded from the standard support mechanisms, deserves.

The Street Rounds

Mobiles-2-180x180

Two Mobile Assistance Teams (MAT), made up of a social worker, who acts as team coordinator, a physician and a driver, tour the streets of Dakar 5 days a week, day and night, on-board an easily recognizable van, to identify children in a situation of family and/or social breakup in order to provide them with assistance and protection. The Samu Social Senegal mobile assistance teams are professional and multidisciplinary: there is a requirement for expertise linked to the complexity of the physical and rehabilitation process for street children.

They organize rounds (touring the streets in order to identify vulnerable children) and go into the territories of the children. They can also respond to a call by other actors who have identified children, but cannot take them in their care (associations, institutional structures, armed forces, individuals, etc.). Mobile teams can also respond to emergencies 24 hours a day anywhere in the Dakar area.

Through their action, they offer medical protection, nutritional assistance and psychosocial support to children exposed to the dangers of the street on a daily basis. Using their skills, they help children understand the events of the past, overcome the hardships of today and build projects for the future.

The MAT fulfil 4 main missions

Medical assistance

  • On-the-spot primary treatment and medical monitoring care in the medical truck. Medical treatment is also considered a   way of building a relationship of trust with the child (taking care of him) and of helping the child to regain self-confidence (taking care of himself).
  • Referral towards ordinary health facilities (hospitals, infirmaries, etc.) for specific pathologies that do not require immediate treatment or a hospitalization.
  • Transfer to a nursing bed at the Samu Social.

Psychosocial support

Doctors and social workers at Samu Social Senegal are trained on the psychopathological approach to children and adolescents based on three main skills:

  • identifying particularly vulnerable children (psychopathological disorder symptoms),
  • understanding implicit calls for help from the child’s language and behaviour,
  • responding to these calls in a structured and constructive manner.

Preventive education

Mobile teams seek to develop preventive actions for this population which falls beyond standard programmes, due to its exclusion from the family, the school and the health system. A major theme is health education and STD-HIV/AIDS prevention in particular.

The teams also inform street children on the threats they might face on a daily basis: exploitation, namely commercial sexual exploitation, substance abuse and physical violence.

Paving a way out of the street

Samu Social Senegal provides various support services in order to rehabilitate street children and prepare them for reinsertion. Individual social interviews provide the information needed for social workers to better understand the situation of each child and help the latter look ahead to the future. Social workers encourage children and boost their willingness to leave the street when this wish has been expressed: they support the child’s project by working in partnership with structures that manage the return into the family or that are specialized in socio-professional reinsertion.

A few figures

  • 350 street rounds per year
  • close to 6000 children identified
  • close to 7,000 nutritional support packs distributed every year
  • about 2000 individual interventions per year (medical treatment, social interviews)

Accomodation

Hébergements-2-180x180

Since July 2004, Samu Social Senegal has been based in the district of Ouakam, half-way between the city centre and the suburbs. CHUSIP stands for Emergency Shelter providing Nursing and Psychological Care.

The children sheltered and cared for in the centre are minors protected by the law. Thus in 2004 Samu Social Senegal signed an MOU with the Directorate for Supervised Education and Social Protection at the Justice Ministry, which states that our association is considered the legal guardian of sheltered children. Besides, an interim custody order is requested for each sheltered child and issued at a bi-monthly hearing by the President of the Youth Tribunal.

Sheltering vulnerable street children

The main function of the Samusocial centre is to provide shelter to street children in a state of physical and/or psychological vulnerability. These are namely:

  • children whose health state does not require hospitalisation but sheltering for medical reasons;
  • children victims of abuse;
  • children in the process of being marginalised: children isolated from the group, children reduced to vagrancy;
  • exhausted street children who can no longer recover vital patterns (wake/sleep, feeding), nor fulfil the activity/passivity dualism (activity becomes restlessness and passivity becomes lethargy);
  • children in a state of regression

A place where children can find fundamental patterns and bearings

Accueil-2-180x180

In so far as the centre welcomes vulnerable street children, its function is to help them recover, find their bearings and gather their strength. Because sheltered children have a traumatic relationship to their bodies and that of others (as a result of abuse and/or paradoxical overadaptation), it is important to give particular attention to moments for body rehabilitation.

Besides, the centre is a place which helps children recover their bearings, as the major pathology that street children suffer from is indifference, the feeling that all things are the same (day and night, life and death). The centre should be a place that helps rebuild the following bearings:

  • spatial bearings: between the inside and the outside;
  • temporal bearings: opening and closing moments;
  • social bearings: allowed places and prohibited places;
  • psycho-affective bearings: children should be able to leave the centre without being excluded, because in this way, they can experience the joy of returning to the centre, confident that they will be welcomed again (this experience can also better prepare them to envisage returning into their families).

The main activities of the Samu Social centre provide:

  • medical care and treatment.
  • social and psychotherapeutic interviews
  • rehabilitation of the body based on four compulsory common moments: shower, meals, “soothing” and sleep.
  • rehabilitation of the mind based on games and artistic activities in order to help children to psychologically depart from a street survival dynamic: for instance by structuring a space providing possibilities for looking at books, listening to music, drawing, painting, alone or as a group, with or without the help of an educator, but necessarily under the supervision/observation of an educator. Throughout the day and on weekends, children can take part in activities involving sports, learning, arts and play, as well as literacy. They can also join outings organized on a regular basis (hikes, beach, etc.).

Psychological support

A clinical psychologist has been running extremely beneficial psychosocial support and psychic rebuilding activities for children. Half a day is devoted to collective therapy when children discuss events of the week or share prior experiences (abandoned by their parents, lived in the daara, etc). The remainder of the time is dedicated to one-to-one interviews and to coordinating the teams on what must be done for each child. Samu Social Senegal is the only association enlisting the help of a clinical psychologist in the teams providing support to street children. Yet such psychological support is crucial, given the kind of trauma experienced by children before they end up and while they live on the streets. The psychologist namely helps children fulfil their desire to leave the street and supports the social coordinator in family mediation efforts. Furthermore, he leads weekly meetings at the centre when decisions are taken on each sheltered child, and provides technical support to the Samu Social Senegal teams. Indeed, the behaviour of the children can sometimes be confusing and our psychologist is precisely specialized in child psychopathologies.

Children and youths can feel extremely disturbed when they are sheltered because it represents a profound rift from the environment that they had learnt to exist in (the street): loss of bearings (spatial, human, temporal); new territory (the home = confined space); fixed hours and structured rhythm; permanent presence of adults; lack of drugs, alcohol; lack of physical violence.

Many children cannot stand this change and “choose” to go back to the street. Street children are caught up in constant swings back and forth between the street, the family, and shelters such as the Samusocial. When a child is sheltered at the Samusocial, the possibility of a return to the street must always be envisaged, and accepted. Such a return to the street, or going back and forth between the street, the centre and the family should never be considered as a failure on the part of the child, but rather, as various steps towards reconstruction.

A few figures

  • the Chusip hosts 350 to 400 children annually on a boarding basis;
  • annually : over 1000 psychosocial cares and about 4000 medical cares
  • more than 20,000 meals are served every year

Family Reunification

Orientation-2-180x180Family reunification is not an end in itself. The first goal of the Samu Social Centre is to provide shelter to vulnerable children. It is only when the milestones are rebuilt that the child can envisage an exit from the street, and the Samu Social teams provide support in this respect, with sometimes several movements back and forth between the centre, the street and the family. Indeed, family reunification depends on the child’s willingness, in so far as without this acceptance, the support relationship, especially psychological support, is impossible. Our goal is not either to reunite the largest number of children with their families, but rather to ensure that these returns are long-lasting. This is why we mostly focus on the quality of the support and monitoring, not only of the children but also of the families. In the last few years therefore, we established a process to support street exit projects with social workers, psychologists, the creation in September 2010 of a Mobile Orientation Team (MOT) and the development of a network of resource persons in the main regions of Senegal. In the 12 months that follow the return into the family, close monitoring is performed, either by phone or through visits; over time, as the child becomes more stable, the visits are spaced out until they are no longer necessary. It is even desirable that after a period of time, the link is “severed” so that the situation goes back to normal.

There have been encouraging results over the last three years (2013-2015): out of 378 stays, 350 were sustainable, which amounts to an 93% “success” rate over a three-year period. These figures are also revealing of the fact that the vast majority of the children we shelter come simply to decompress, take a break from the street, but they are not yet ready to envisage leaving the street. Thanks to the actions of Samusocial Senegal, 947 children overall have left the street in a durable manner since 2004.

Cross-cutting Activities

In order to monitor and professionalize the management of street children, Samu Social Senegal implements a number of activities in partnership with Samu Social International – ongoing or occasional – in order to build its technical skills and its level of understanding of the issue. Thus, core cross-cutting areas have been developed in the activities of Samusocial Senegal since its inception and on the basis of issues encountered.

Training and capacity building

Soutien-2-180x180Samu Social Senegal organizes training seminars on the standard and pathological psychology of children and teenagers. Such training focuses on the clinical and psychopathological specificities shown by vulnerable children and teenagers living or seeking refuge on the street. It includes teaching on trauma, resilience methods and paradoxical overadaptation, and focuses on the relationship children have with language, others (peers and adults), time and space. The objective is to enable emergency professionals to better adapt their practices to this social and psychological context and to acquire assessment tools.

Samu Social Senegal also provides university education, especially at the National School of Specialized Social Workers (ENTSS) and training upon requests to institutional partners.

Research and advocacy

Actions-2-180x180

Improving the situation of street children also requires on the one hand to reduce the stigmatisation they experience, which leads to their rejection by the population, and on the other, better management of their specific situation by public authorities. This is why Samu Social Senegal implements activities that can intensify advocacy in favour of street children.

Field and outreach activities by Samu Social Senegal mobile support teams help to understand first hand the lives of the street children of Dakar, and to know their geographic origins, their history and their background. All the data collected during formal or informal exchanges between the children and the mobile support teams is input into an electronic database. In addition to helping with the individual monitoring of children, this database enhances sociological knowledge on the street children of Dakar and therefore helps to better understand the phenomenon, which is useful for both researchers and field actors.

Networking

One of the major areas of Samu Social interventions is the focus on developing partnerships, whether operational with other associations, or institutional with ministries and the City of Dakar. If the management of street children is a chain spanning from emergency to insertion, the work of Samusocial Senegal clearly lies with the first level of emergency, and sometimes post-emergency. Over time, we have developed a vibrant and dynamic network with numerous partners, each with an added value in the management of street children.

Nos Actions


StorymakerFr

Principes d’action

La mission du Samu Social Sénégal consiste à intervenir selon les principes de l’urgence auprès des enfants et des jeunes des rues ou en grand danger dans la rue. Et cela notamment :

  • en allant à la rencontre des enfants en les considérant comme des victimes n’ayant plus la force ni la volonté d’aller vers les structures de droit commun ou vers toute autre association ;
  • en mettant hors de danger les enfants selon des procédures d’urgence médico-psychosociale ;
  • en favorisant la réinsertion des enfants grâce à un réseau de partenaires institutionnels et privés ;
  • en soutenant les actions se rattachant directement ou indirectement à la problématique de « l’enfance en danger ».

Le Samu Social constitue le premier maillon d’une chaîne qui va de l’urgence à l’insertion. Il a pour objectif d’améliorer la situation des enfants en danger dans la rue et d’éviter l’aggravation de leur détresse. Nous cherchons simplement à mettre en place un processus de prise en charge, au nom de la dignité que l’on doit aux enfants, et d’une manière générale à toute personne exclue des mécanismes de prise en charge traditionnels.

Les maraudes

Mobiles-2-180x180Constituées d’un travailleur social qui coordonne l’équipe, d’un médecin et d’un chauffeur, les 2 Equipes Mobiles d’Aide (EMA) sillonnent Dakar 5 jours par semaine, jour et nuit, à bord d’une camionnette facilement identifiable, pour repérer les enfants en situation de rupture familiale et/ou sociale, et leur apporter aide et protection. Les équipes mobiles d’aide du Samusocial Sénégal sont professionnelles et pluridisciplinaires : une exigence de savoir-faire liée à la complexité du processus de réhabilitation physique et psychologique des enfants de la rue.

Elles agissent en maraudes (sillonner les rues afin de repérer les enfants en danger)  et effectuent des tournées sur les territoires de vie des enfants. Elles peuvent également répondre à la demande d’autres acteurs ayant repéré des enfants mais ne pouvant les prendre en charge (associations, structures institutionnelles, gendarmerie, particuliers…). Les équipes mobiles interviennent également 24 heures sur 24 en cas d’urgence, sur toute la zone de Dakar.

Par leur action, elles offrent une protection médicale, un appui nutritionnel et une aide psychosociale à ces enfants quotidiennement exposés aux dangers de la rue. Par leurs compétences, elles aident l’enfant à comprendre les événements du passé, à surmonter les difficultés du présent et à construire des projets d’avenir.

Les EMA ont 4 missions principales

L’aide médicale

  • Soins médicaux primaires et suivi médical, sur place, dans le camion médicalisé. Le soin médical est également conçu comme un  moyen de créer une relation de confiance avec l’enfant (prendre soin de lui) et d’aider l’enfant à reprendre confiance en lui (prendre soin de soi).
  • Orientations vers les structures sanitaires de droit commun (hôpitaux, dispensaires,…) pour les pathologies spécifiques nécessitant des soins particuliers ou une hospitalisation.
  • Accueil en lit infirmier au Samu Social.

L’accompagnement psychosocial

Les médecins et les travailleurs socio-éducatifs du Samusocial Sénégal sont formés à l’approche psychopathologique des enfants et adolescents en danger fondée sur un triple savoir-faire :

  • savoir repérer les enfants particulièrement en danger (symptômes des troubles psychopathologiques),
  • savoir interpréter les manifestations de l’enfant comme des demandes d’aide implicites,
  • savoir répondre à ces demandes de manière structurante et constructive.

L’éducation préventive

Les équipes mobiles ont pour mission de développer une action de prévention en direction de cette population qui échappe aux programmes classiques, du fait de leur exclusion familiale, scolaire et sanitaire. L’éducation à la santé et en particulier la prévention des IST –VIH/SIDA constitue un thème majeur.
Les équipes informent également les enfants et jeunes des rues sur les dangers auxquels ils sont quotidiennement exposés : l’exploitation, notamment l’exploitation sexuelle à des fins commerciales, la toxicomanie, la violence physique.

La préparation à la sortie de rue

Les différents services d’aide que propose le Samu Social Sénégal visent à réhabiliter l’enfant de la rue afin de le préparer à sa réinsertion. Dans le cadre d’entretiens sociaux individuels, les travailleurs sociaux recueillent les informations permettant de comprendre la situation de l’enfant et de l’aider à se projeter dans l’avenir. Les travailleurs sociaux motivent l’enfant et encouragent sa volonté de quitter la rue lorsque celle-ci a été exprimée : ils accompagnent le projet de l’enfant en travaillant en partenariat avec des structures prenant en charge le retour en famille ou spécialisées dans la réinsertion socioprofessionnelle.

Quelques chiffres

  • 350 maraudes par an
  • près de de 6000 enfants répertoriés
  • plus de 7 000 appuis nutritionnels distribués chaque année dans la rue
  • environ 2000 prises en charge individuelles par an (soin médical, entretien social)

Le Chusip

Le Samu Social Sénégal est installé depuis juillet 2004 dans le quartier de Ouakam, à mi-chemin du centre ville et de la banlieue. (CHUSIP = Centre d’Hébergement d’Urgence avec Soins Infirmiers et Psychologiques).

Les enfants hébergés et pris en charge dans le centre sont des mineurs protégés par la loi. Ainsi le Samu Social Sénégal a passé en 2004 un protocole d’accord avec la Direction de l’Education Surveillée et de la Protection Sociale du Ministère de la Justice qui stipule que notre association est tuteur judiciaire des enfants hébergés. Par ailleurs chaque enfant hébergé fait l’objet d’une demande d’Ordonnance de Garde Provisoire délivrée en audience bimensuelle par la Présidente du Tribunal pour Enfants.

La mise à l’abri des enfants en danger dans la rue

Hébergements-2-180x180Un centre du Samu Social se justifie essentiellement par sa fonction de mise à l’abri des enfants et des jeunes qui sont en danger dans la rue, pour des raisons de santé physique et/ou psychique.

Il s’agit notamment de :

  • l’enfant dont l’état de santé ne requiert pas une hospitalisation mais une mise à l’abri pour raisons médicales ;
  • l’enfant victime de maltraitance ;
  • l’enfant en voie de marginalisation : l’enfant isolé du groupe, l’enfant « clochardisé » ;
  • l’enfant épuisé dans la rue c’est-à-dire l’enfant qui n’arrive plus à récupérer les rythmes vitaux (veille/sommeil, rythme alimentaire), et à investir le dualisme activité / passivité (l’activité devient agitation et la passivité, léthargie) ;
  • l’enfant en phase de régression

Un lieu qui aide les enfants et les jeunes à retrouver des rythmes et repères fondamentaux

Accueil-2-180x180Dans la mesure où le centre va accueillir des enfants en danger dans la rue, la fonction du CHUSIP est d’aider l’enfant à récupérer, à se retrouver, à se ressourcer. Parce que l’enfant accueilli a un rapport « traumatique » à son corps et au corps d’autrui (conséquence de la maltraitance et/ou de la suradaptation paradoxale), il importe de porter particulièrement attention aux temps de remise en fonction du corps.

En outre, le centre est un lieu qui aide l’enfant à retrouver des repères, car la grande pathologie dont souffre l’enfant de la rue est l’indifférence, ce sentiment que tout se vaut (le jour et la nuit, la vie et la mort). Le lieu que représente le centre doit particulièrement reconstruire les repères suivants :

  • repères spatiaux : entre le dedans et le dehors ;
  • repères temporels : moments d’ouverture et de fermeture ;
  • repères sociaux : endroits permis et endroits non permis ;
  • repères psychoaffectifs : l’enfant doit pouvoir quitter le centre sans être exclu car, de cette façon, il pourra expérimenter la joie du retour dans le centre et la confiance à être de nouveau accueilli (une expérience qui lui permettra également de mieux se projeter dans la perspective d’un retour en famille).

Les principales activités du centre permettent :

  • les soins et traitements médicaux.
  • les entretiens sociaux et psychothérapeutiques
  • la remise en fonction du corps autour de quatre temps communs obligatoires : la toilette, le repas, le « bercement » et le sommeil.
  • la remise en fonction de l’imaginaire autour du jeu et des activités artistiques afin d’aider l’enfant à sortir psychiquement des logiques de survie de la rue : aménager, par exemple, un espace offrant la possibilité de regarder des livres, d’écouter de la musique, de dessiner, de peindre, seul ou en groupe, avec l’aide ou non d’un éducateur, mais nécessairement sous la surveillance / observation d’un éducateur. Des activités sportives, pédagogiques, artistiques et ludiques ainsi que des séances d’alphabétisation sont proposées aux enfants durant la journée et les week end. Des sorties sont régulièrement organisées (randonnées, plage…).

L’accompagnement psychologique

L’activité du psychologue clinicien est hautement profitable pour le suivi psychosocial de l’enfant ou du jeune, et sa reconstruction psychique. La Psychologue clinicienne intervient à temps plein dans le centre, et en maraude. Une demi-journée est consacrée à une thérapie collective où les enfants reviennent sur les événements de la semaine ou partagent leurs expériences antérieures (abandon des parents, vécu au daara…). Le reste du temps est consacré à des entretiens individuels et à la coordination des équipes sur les décisions à prendre pour chaque enfant. Le Samu Social Sénégal est la seule association intervenant auprès des enfants de la rue comptant un psychologue clinicien dans ses équipes. Or ce suivi psychologique est indispensable au vu des traumatismes vécus par les enfants avant leur arrivée à la rue et durant leur vie dans la rue. La psychologue participe notamment à l’accompagnement de l’enfant dans son projet de sortie de rue et soutient le coordinateur social dans la médiation familiale. La psychologue anime en outre la réunion hebdomadaire du centre où sont décidées les conduites à tenir pour chaque enfant hébergé et vient en soutien technique aux équipes du Samu Social Sénégal. En effet, le comportement des enfants peut être parfois déroutant et notre psychologue est justement spécialisé dans les psychopathologies de l’enfant.

L’hébergement est extrêmement déstabilisant pour l’enfant, car il s’agit d’une véritable rupture par rapport à l’environnement auquel il s’était adapté (la rue) : perte des repères (spatiaux, humains, temporels) ; nouveau territoire (la maison = espace clos) ; horaires fixes et rythme organisé ; présence permanente d’adultes ; absence de drogues, d’alcools ; absence de violence physique.
Nombreux sont les enfants qui ne supportent pas cette rupture et qui « choisissent » de retourner dans la rue. L’itinéraire des enfants de la rue est fait de constants allers et retours entre la rue, la famille, les centres d’accueil tels que le Samu Social. Quand un enfant est accueilli au CHUSIP, le préalable est de toujours envisager qu’un retour à la rue est possible et l’accepter. Un retour dans la rue, ou même des allers-retours rue/centre/famille ne doivent jamais être considéré comme un échec, mais plutôt comme les différents paliers pouvant aider l’enfant à se reconstruire.

Quelques chiffres

  • le CHUSIP accueille 350 à 400 enfants par an en hébergement
  • par an : environ 1000 prises en charge psychologiques et sociales, et environ 4000 consultations et soins médicaux
  • plus de 20 000 repas sont servis annuellement

Les retours en famille

Orientation-2-180x180Le retour en famille n’est pas une fin en soi. Le centre du Samu Social a pour vocation première la mise à l’abri de l’enfant en danger. Ce n’est qu’une fois ses repères reconstruits que l’enfant est en mesure d’envisager une sortie de la rue, et est accompagné en ce sens par les équipes du Samusocial, avec parfois de multiples aller-retour entre le centre, la rue, la famille. En effet, le retour en famille dépend de la volonté de l’enfant dans la mesure où, sans son acceptation, la relation d’aide, en particulier psychologique, est impossible. Nous n’avons pas non plus pour objectif de raccompagner à tout prix le plus grand nombre d’enfants en famille, mais surtout de faire en sorte que ces retours soient durables. C’est pourquoi nous mettons principalement l’accent sur la qualité de l’accompagnement et du suivi, non seulement des enfants mais aussi des familles. C’est ainsi qu’au cours des années nous avons mis en place un processus d’accompagnement des projets de sortie de rue avec les travailleurs sociaux, les psychologues, la création en septembre 2010 d’une Équipe Mobile d’Orientation (EMO) et le développement d’un réseau de personnes ressources dans les principales régions du Sénégal. Dans les 12 mois qui suivent l’orientation de l’enfant, un suivi rapproché est effectué, soit par téléphone soit par des visites ; au fil du temps, l’enfant se stabilisant, les visites s’espacent pour finalement ne plus être nécessaires. Il est même bon qu’au bout d’un certain temps, le lien soit « rompu » pour que la situation se normalise.
Les résultats des trois dernières années (2013-2015) sont encourageants : sur 378 projets de sorties de rue, 350 sont durables, soit 93% de « réussite » sur 3 ans. Ces chiffres sont également révélateurs du fait que la grande majorité des enfants que nous accueillons ne viennent que pour se ressourcer, se reposer de la rue, mais ne sont pas prêts à envisager une sortie de la rue. Globalement, depuis 2004, ce sont 947 enfants qui sont sortis durablement de la rue, grâce aux actions du Samu Social Sénégal.

Les activités transversales

Pour encadrer et professionnaliser la prise en charge des enfants de la rue, le Samu Social Sénégal, en partenariat avec le Samusocial International, met en œuvre un certain nombre d’activités – récurrentes ou ponctuelles – afin d’améliorer ses compétences techniques et son niveau de compréhension de la problématique. Ainsi, les grands axes « transversaux » des activités du Samusocial Sénégal sont développés depuis sa création et en fonction des problèmes rencontrés.

La formation et le développement des capacités

Soutien-2-180x180Le Samu Social Sénégal organise des séminaires de formation sur la psychologie normale et pathologique de l’enfant et de l’adolescent. Cette formation est centrée sur les spécificités cliniques et psychopathologiques que montrent les enfants et les adolescents « en danger dans la rue » ou y ayant trouvé un refuge. Un enseignement sur le trauma, sur les résiliences et les suradaptations paradoxales trouve ici sa place et intègre le rapport du jeune, au langage, à autrui (le pair et l’adulte), au temps et à l’espace. L’objectif est de permettre aux professionnels de l’urgence sociale de pouvoir mieux adapter leurs pratiques à ces réalités sociales et psychologiques et de se doter d’outils d’évaluation.

Le Samu Social Sénégal dispense également des enseignements universitaires, en particulier à l’Ecole Nationale des Travailleurs Sociaux Spécialisés (ENTSS) et des formations à la demande (Magistrats, police…).

La recherche et le plaidoyer

Actions-2-180x180L’amélioration de la situation des enfants de la rue passe également, par la réduction de la stigmatisation dont ils sont victimes, conduisant à leur rejet par la population, d’une part, et par l’amélioration de la prise en compte par les pouvoirs publics de leur situation spécifique, d’autre part. C’est pourquoi le Samu Social Sénégal met en œuvre des actions permettant de développer le plaidoyer en faveur des enfants de la rue.
L’action de terrain et de proximité des équipes mobiles d’aide du Samu Social Sénégal permet d’appréhender in situ la réalité des enfants des rues à Dakar, de connaître leurs origines géographiques, leur histoire, leur parcours. Toutes ces données sont recueillies au cours des échanges formels ou informels entre les enfants et les équipes mobiles d’aide  et saisie sur une base informatisée. Outre le suivi individuel des enfants, cette base de données renforce la connaissance sociologique des enfants des rues à Dakar et contribue ainsi à une meilleure compréhension du phénomène, utile tant aux chercheurs qu’aux acteurs de terrain.

Le travail en réseau

Développer des partenariats, opérationnels avec les autres associations, institutionnels avec les Ministères et la Ville de Dakar, est un axe majeur des principes d’intervention du Samusocial. Si la prise en charge des enfants de la rue est une chaîne qui va de l’urgence à l’insertion, le travail du Samu Social Sénégal se situe clairement au premier niveau : l’urgence, parfois la post-urgence. Au fil du temps nous avons développé un réseau vivant et dynamique avec de nombreux partenaires, chacun ayant sa valeur ajoutée dans la prise en charge des enfants de la rue.